How to Convert to Islam

Islam is the second most popular religion all over the world. The followers of Islam follow the teachings in the religious book the Qur’an, a book considered to be the greatest work of God, written by the Islamic prophet Muhammad. The word Islam has multiple meanings and one of them being peace. It also means total surrender to oneself or God. Islam believes all Gods are one. In this article we see how to convert to this great faith.

The word “muslim” means to submit to the will of God, regardless of race, caste, previous religious history, nationality or ethnic background. Converting to Islam has no pre-requisites. You can choose to convert in a Mosque, in front of or with the guidance of other people or alone all by yourself. The pronunciation of “Shahada” is all that is required to convert to this faith. This is the first and the most important of the five pillars of Islam.

Upon pronouncing Shahada and entering Islam, purely for Gods love, all of your previous sins are forgiven and you start a new life of piety . When one chooses to embrace Islam they are in essence repenting from the ways and beliefs of their previous life. One should strive to do as many good deeds as possible and try not to accumulate any sin. To convert now pronounce the proclamation with conviction and an understanding toward its meaning, ’La ilah illa Allah, Muhammad rasoolu Allah’. This means, ‘I testify that there is no true God but Allah and that Muhammad is a Prophet of God’. Once you pronounce this with conviction you become Muslim. It is suggested to get the help of a Muslim friend to get the pronunciation right.

Once converted to Islam it is important to follow the five pillars of Islam to achieve true glory and spiritual enlightenment.The five pillars are:

  • Shahada: This is a statement professing monotheism and accepting Muhammad as God’s messenger.
  • Salat: Salat is the second pillar of Islam. It is the requirement to pray to Allah five times a day. Each salat must be performed facing towards Mecca. Salat is a way to focus ones mind on Allah and must be practiced everyday at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset and night.
  • Zakat: Zakat is the third pillar of Islam and it means to practice charity. This is obligatory to those who can afford to do so.  This means at least 2.5% of your monthly income must be dedicated to charity. While giving zakat one must declare his intention to Allah. The zakat is usually distributed in the community it was taken from.
  • Ramadan: Ramadan is the fourth pillar of Islam. There are three types of fasting, ritual fasting, fasting for repentance, and ascetic fasting. Ritual fasting has to be done during the month of Ramadan. For the period of that month one must abstain from food drink and sexual intercourse from dawn to dusk. This fast is a means to get close to Allah. During this month you are expected to put in an extra effort to refrain from violence, anger greed envy or lust and should try to get along with people you normally wouldn’t.
  • Haj: The fifth pillar of Islam is a pilgrimage to Haj. It is important for every Muslim to visit Haj in the holy city of Mecca at least once in a life time. When one is about 10kms from Haj one is required to wear Ihram clothing, which consists of two white sheets of cloth. Both men and women are required to take up this journey at least once in a lifetime. Once the trip is successfully undertaken you will be know as hajja (or one who has made the trip).

Related Content:

  1. How to Convert to Judaism
  2. How to Convert to Catholicism
  3. How to Convert to Buddhism

Leave a Reply